The Edge of Glory Spin Mix (50 minutes)

11 05 2011

Oh my goodness, it’s been a long time since I posted a new playlist.  Lots of reasons: night and weekend work, teaching, then marking exams, having a very busy toddler at home.  And frankly, some uninspiring music choices.  Nothing out there was really getting me excited, until now.  I’ve been subsisting on previous playlists and the offerings on the reader playlists page – thank you so much for your contributions!  They’re awesome.

This is a mix of brand new stuff, most of which is charting on iTunes right now.  The common denominator here is that all of the tunes took a while to grow on me, except for Lady GaGa’s just-released The Edge of Glory, which is going to be a massive hit for her.  Prediction: this is the song of summer 2011, folks.

The profile for this ride is one I’ve used many times before: a climb, some sprints, followed by some jumps.  The sequence repeats three times.

Rolling in the Deep – ADELE (3:48):  When reader Chris first touted this song as one of the best of 2010 I took a listen and thought, meh – I wasn’t sure how to spin to it.  Since Chris mentioned it, it’s exploded and multiple listenings have made me an Adele convert – this 21 year old Brit is uber-talented.  It would work as a seated climb, but here, I’m using its energy for a warm up.  Kudos, Chris – you called this one.

S&M – Rihanna (4:03):  Okay, I’m aware that chasing a song as complex and delicious as Rolling in the Deep with S&M is like chasing a gourmet meal with a Big Mac, but stay with me, okay?  The thing is, the chorus is as catchy as the lyrics are insipid and look-at-me salacious.  And I’ve always been a sucker for a good beat.  We’re going to take the resistance up to 5/10 and come out of the saddle to climb for the verses.  For the choruses, we jack up the tension to 7/10 and do 4 count lifts until Rihanna says, “La la la la la come on,” when we switch to two count lifts.

Born this Way – Lady GaGa (4:20):  Wikipedia reports that GaGa wrote this song in ten minutes; critics suggest that perhaps this is because it sounds like a rip-off of Madonna’s Express Yourself.  Lady Gaga remains fiercely unapologetic about her hit.  “Don’t be a drag, just be a queen.”  We’re going to sprint here: 30/30/30 seconds.  They’re at 0:58 – 1:28, 2:08 – 2:38, and 3:18 – 3:48.  Three options for how to do ‘em: as surges, as seated sprints, or as get-out-of-my-face standing sprints.  Riders’ choice.

On the Floor (Mixin Mark & Tony Svejda LA to Ibiza Radio Mix) [feat. Pitbull] – Jennifer Lopez (3:17): This was another song that took a while to grow on me, though I loved the video from the beginning.  Time for some jumps, mid-tension 6/10.  Random intervals: 8/4/2 counts.  Mix it up.  The end of this song marks the end of the first set.

More (RedOne Jimmy Joker Remix) – Usher (3:40): Take a drink, give your shoulders a roll, but leave that tension where it is.  We’ve got a hill to climb.  Come up out of the saddle and find your groove.  At 1:05, when we hit the first chorus, the song quickens and so do we.  Pick up the pace.  When the second verse starts, add tension to get to 7/10 and keep going.  Pick up the pace for the second chorus.  When it ends, add a wee bit more tension 8/10 and push to the top of the hill – it’s going to feel like a slog, always playing catch-up with the beat.

Trouble – P!nk (3:13):  P!nk can always be counted on for a good sprint.  Let the song guide you here.  When the music is slow, recover.  As the beat picks up, move into a surge.  The choruses are short, snappy, all-out seated sprints: 15/15/15/30 seconds.  They’re at 0:17 – 0:32, 0:45 – 1:00, 1:57 – 2:10,  and 2:39 – 3:09.

Tonight (I’m Lovin’ You) [feat. Ludacris & DJ Frank E]  – Enrique Iglesias (3:52):  The REAL version of this song is raunchy enough to make Rihanna’s S&M seem tame by comparison.  Let’s just say Enrique wasn’t “lovin'” in the other version.  Please excuse him, he doesn’t mean to be rude.  We’re going to finish the second set with some more jumps.  Resistance 7/10.  Start with 4 count on the verses, move to 2 count for the choruses.  Hup!

Hey Baby (Drop it to the Floor) [feat. T-Pain] – Pitbull (3:56):  Last set starts here, so we’re in for another climb.  We’re going to leave the tension where it is at 7/10 and stay seated for this one during the verses.  For the choruses, we’ll come out of the saddle and into a standing jog.  Thanks to my former student, Legalb for suggesting this tune.

Hit it Again - 3OH!3 (3:04): This Boulder, Colorado duo just can’t stay away from controversial lyrics.  Here, we have an F-bomb during the chorus, and no radio edit in sight.  But it’s so damn catchy.  The sprints are 25/25/25 seconds at  0:40 – 1:05, 1:42 –  2:07, and 2:34 – 3:00.  If you don’t dare play it, try substituting with Avril Lavigne’s What the Hell (3:40).  If you use that one, the sprints are still 25/25/25 seconds long, at 0:45 – 1:10, 1:55 – 2:20, and 2:53 – 3:30.

Blow – Ke$ha (3:40):  Thanks to one of my regular riders, Laurie, for suggesting this tune.  Last set of jumps 8/4/2 counts switching at 1:15 and 3:00.

The Edge of Glory – Lady GaGa (5:21): This is GaGa’s latest single, released just two days ago and already burning up the charts.  GaGa modestly called it “f-ing beautiful.”  That’s Clarence Clemons from Springsteen’s E Street Band on the sax.  Ego aside, I’ve got to say I agree with GaGa here.  This song kicks ass.  Time for a great big finish.  A combo drill, out-of-the-saddle climb during the verses, all-out standing sprints during the choruses 30/30/60 brutal seconds.  They’re at 1:04 – 1:34, 2:28 – 2:58, 4:02 – 5:02. Time to get all that energy out.

Forget You - Cee Lo Green (3:44):  We earned this cool down.  Take the tension back to an easy 2/10 and spin it out.  I confess, I’d never heard of Cee Lo or this song before reader Chris suggested it as one of the best spinning tunes of 2010.  Now, the song is everywhere, there’s a Glee version, and Cee Lo is a judge on the NBC talent show, The Voice.  Cee Lo isn’t new to the music scene – he’s half of the duo Gnarls Barkley and I’ve used two of his songs on this blog, Gone Daddy Gone and Run (I’m a Natural Disaster).  Chris, thanks – you did it again.

Alone Again [feat. P. Reign] – Alyssa Reid (3:57):  More cool down and goodbye music.  Reid samples Heart’s 1987 hit, Alone and P. Reign raps around it.  18 year old Reid is Canadian; Alberta born, currently living in the Greater Toronto area.  This tune hit #11 on Billboard’s Canadian Hot 100.

I had a birthday on April 17 and my better half surprised me with an iPad 2.  It’s spectacular, and I haven’t even scratched the surface yet.  So far, I’ve downloaded a few e-books, played Angry Birds, surfed the net, and read my daughter the interactive Moo Baa La La La app.  Reader Nils suggested the Djay app, which I plan to check out.  Other iPad users out there – what are your favourite iPad apps?


Actions

Information

29 responses

9 07 2013
Angie

What is the resistance for the edge of glory song?

25 05 2011
Jennie

I did this playlist and they loved it! The class actually thought it was tough :) Any playlists for 80’s themed classes?

29 05 2011
Cynthia

Hi Jennie,

I did one here

23 05 2011
Jennifer

They want to do the same ride next week! Thank you.

23 05 2011
Cynthia

Hey, that’s awesome! I subbed a 75 minute class on Sat morning and used this playlist + another 25 minutes of material.

21 05 2011
Niki

Just started with spinning about two months ago. Really glad I found your blog with all the energizing music for spinning. Thanks for that!

One thing I can advise you for the Ipad (and of course other platforms like windows and android) is Spotify. This is an online music service for 10 euro per month. All the music you discussed in your playlists is easy to find and can be downloaded to your tablet. If you purchase a Airport Express you can connect that to your stereo set and stream your music wireless while sitting on the couch

When going out on the bike I never leave home without Iphone and Spotify running on it for music. The great thing is that you can share playlists between the various devices you run Spotify on. You can even share a playlist in this blog so other users can import that playlist.

Happy Spinning!

Regards Niki

23 05 2011
Cynthia

Thanks Niki! I went to the App Store and found a couple of apps that work with spotify, but no spotify in the Canadian iTunes store. Will have to hunt a bit.

18 05 2011
emily

Hey everyone. so my class that i teach is Saturday mornings at 8:15. basically, not many young people are there like myself. Does anyone have good remixes or “older” songs that they could suggest for an “older” crowd? i dont want to keep hounding the crew with rap or techno.

Let me know! THANKS!

18 05 2011
Cynthia

Emily, you need Bob! He’s a regular poster here at Spinning Music. You can find half a dozen of his playlists on the Reader Playlists page. If that’s what you’re looking for, he has an email list and sends out his weekly playlist to anyone who signs up. Send me a note with your email address and I will send it to him to add you to the list if you like. You can email me at spinningmusicblog@gmail.com.

19 05 2011
emily

hey. my email address is [deleted to avoid her getting spammed]. Thanks so much! ill look through the reader’s playlists also.

24 05 2011
Cynthia

Several people have e-mailed me asking to be put on Bob’s mailing list to get his playlists and I am delighted to report that Bob has extended an open offer: if you’d like to receive his weekly playlists, send him a note at rbleventhal [AT] gmail [DOT] com. I get them!

16 05 2011
Cheri

Thanks for the tip with Lady GaGa! I downloaded today and will play it tonight in my class.

Thanks!
Cheri

17 05 2011
Cynthia

Glad you liked it – hope it went well for you in class.

15 05 2011
Heiko

Great Playlist. Just found your blog today and love it!

Thanx from Germany

Heiko

15 05 2011
Cynthia

Thanks, Heiko! Welcome to the blog.

14 05 2011
Aurélie Halbwachs

Hello Cynthia.
I started giving spinning class in January in Mauritius, and everything is going well here. Thanks for your new playlist. Here is my new spinning songs named : I’m gonna make you SWEAT (-:
I added some of your musics to make it a “marathon” playlist (1h12′). If I want to do only 50 minutes then we stop after “We are the people” with a cool song for stretching.

1. Rolling in the deep – 3:48
2. Where you wanna go – Misha Daniels feat J-Son – 3:10
3. Save your heart – laurent wolf remix – 6:30
4. Blow : Kesha – 3:40
5. Till the world ends : Britney Spears 3:58
6. Sweat – David Guetta extended remix and Snoop Dog – 5:45
7. Someday – black eyed peas 4:34
8. The Edge of Glory – Lady Gaga : 5:20
9. Never cry again – Dash Berlin 8:50
10. Hey Baby – Pitbull – 3:24
11. We are the people – Empire of the sun – 4:27
12. Tonight – Enrique Iglesias – 3:52
13. Nobody’s perfect – Jessie J – 4:20
14. The rain – Peter Lutz – 3:18
15. Life goes on : cool down – 3:53
16. The face – kings of leon : stretching – 3:28

14 05 2011
Cynthia

Aurelie, I love your extended mix! Especially Sweat. Thanks for posting it.

13 05 2011
Heather @Gluten-Free Cat

Soooooooo excited that you posted today! Just bought many of the songs on your playlist! Needed that inspiration to put some LIFE into my class! :)

13 05 2011
Cynthia

Thanks Heather! Glad you liked it.

12 05 2011
erin m. {{well in l.a.}}

Great playlist! There is an awesome… AMAZING Adele/Eurythmics mashup of “Rolling in the Deep/Sweet Dreams” out there on the internet. For the newly converted to the soulful stirrings Adele has to offer. I’ve used it for sprints in my classes. I have the aforementioned song + a remix of Lady Gaga’s “Edge of Glory” to post to my profiles & playlists and SoundCloud over the weekend.

13 05 2011
Cynthia

Hi Erin, I found it! You’re right, it’s a great mashup. Which remix of Edge of Glory are you using?

12 05 2011
thepinkleopard

I am in love with this playlist!! I have been spinning for years and recently became an instructor and sometimes am a little nervous to play such cool songs as these! But I am going to give this a try because I don’t see how anyone can’t like this playlist! Makes me want to spin right now! thank you and glad I stumbled upon your blog!

13 05 2011
Cynthia

Thanks Leopard! I used this playlist in my class on Wed night and it went over really well. My God, those last sprints during The Edge of Glory were hard. It felt to me like a challenging class. Come back again soon and post one of your favourite playlists on the Reader Playlist page.

12 05 2011
Dana

Great playlist! And great minds think alike, as I have most of these on several of my lists! I LOVE Edge of Glory. Here’s what I’ll be doing for mine: Start of on a seated flat/run. Take it up when the music changes…back down for the chorus, where we sprint at a high resistance. Not only that…but each time she says “Edge” during the chorus, we take the resistance up by two numbers. Then back down to the flat and we do it ALL OVER AGAIN. TWICE! Think of it as rolling hills.

It’s been a while since I’ve posted a playlist…but I’ve got several that I’ve created since I last posted so I’m due. I will say that one GREAT song I use (and I use it as our last) is “Welcome to the Black Parade” by My Chemical Romance. The first 1:45 is a heavy, seated hill. Then we take it down for some all out, get the hell out of my way sprints. Take it back up to a standing climb when the music slows…then back down to finish it off with sprints. If that song doesn’t motivate you…you’re dead.

13 05 2011
Cynthia

Cool! And thanks for the tip about Welcome to the Black Parade, Dana – I downloaded it immediately.

12 05 2011
Jessica

Great to see a post from you Cynthia! I’ve yet to figure out the whole ping thing so in the meantime I just monitor the blog.
Fun playlist.
I’m mixed on Gaga but will have to check out the Edge of Glory. Not really a fan of Born This Way, but love her song Monster, so who knows.
Hope all is well!!

13 05 2011
Cynthia

Hey Jessica, great to hear from you! I have been kind of meh on Born this Way, too, but I really liked Edge of Glory and it’s been going through my freaking head since class on Wed night – a sure sign that a pop song has legs.

11 05 2011
Cynthia

Thanks Marianne! Isn’t it great to be back on the bike? Hope your knee is doing well. Saw GaGa mentoring the contestants on Idol tonight. I’d put money that she’s going to perform The Edge of Glory tomorrow night.

11 05 2011
Marianne

Great playlist! Monday was my first time back on the bike in 5 weeks, I had emergency knee surgery and the recovery wasn’t as quick as I wanted. Just wanted to say my 1st playlist has the same title and I absolutely LOOOOVE Lady Gaga’s new #1 HIT. I had a full class to welcome me back this morning and it’s good to be back. The last 5 weeks I kept busy reading over your readers added playlist and the action on PING (which I LOVE).
Great playlist! Sounds like your BUUUUSY. Wish I had a new Ipad- I did hear today Lady Gaga is having something similar to Farmville…. OH NOOOO ( glad i’m NOT a fan of those games)
Going to use your playlist tonight, may add Steven Tylers or Snoop dogs new one to it!
Marianne

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

