Mercy Spin Mix (50 minutes)

18 09 2011

Nothing new here, just a rearrangement of some of my favourite songs.

Sexy and I Know It – LMFAO (3:19):  Warm up.

Sinnerman (Felix Da Housecat’s Heavenly House Mix) – Nina Simone and Felix Da Housecat (4:35):  Surges.  From 0 – 0:30 keep it easy, then from 0:30 – 1:30 increase your cadence by 10%.  From 1:30 – 2:30 increase it 20%.  From 2:30 – 3:30 increase the tension and come out of the saddle to climb.  From 3:30 – 4:30, increase the tension and keep climbing.

What a Night(DJ Kontrol Journey Mash) (feat. Claude Kelly) – Kontrol & L’il John (3:34):  One of my all-time favourite mashups, from Dirty Mexican Lemonade.  Jumps, one minute each for 8/4/2 counts.

Mercy (feat. The Game) – Duffy (3:50): An out-of-the-saddle climb on a muddy hill – tension 7/10.  Pick up the pace for each chorus.

This is How a Heart Breaks – Rob Thomas (3:51):  This song has possibly the most misguided title ever.  It should be a sappy ballad, but instead it’s a kick-ass sprinting tune.  Two quick intervals and one longer one: 15/20/1:15 at 0:44 – 1:00, 1:32 – 1:52, and 2:@0 – 3:35.  One of my all-time favourites.

Black Betty – Spiderbait (3:26):  Surging and sprinting here – from 0:12 – 0:50 surge; from 0:50 – 1:02 sprint.  Relax until 1:48 – 2:20 for another surge, and follow it up with a sprint from 2:58 – 3:13.  This song has been around for a long time.  It was first recorded in 1933, but could date as early as the 18th century.  Nobody is sure of exactly what ‘black betty’ is; the most likely meaning is a musket or a bottle of whisky.

Don’t Trust Me – 3OH!3 (3:13):  Sprints 30/30/30 at 0:30 – 1:00, 1:29 – 1:58, and 235 – 3:05.  I cringe at the offensive lyrics… but I keep playing it.

Clubbed to Death – Rob Dougan (7:27):  A seated climb starting at 5/10 and moving up to 9/10 or even 10/10.  Stand if/when you need to.  I like to get the riders to visualize a local hill and I point out the landmarks as we climb.

Lit Up – Buckcherry (3:37):  An unabashed love song to cocaine.  Come out of the saddle for this one and charge.

The Edge of Glory – Lady GaGa (5:21):  Spinning perfection.  Climb for the verses, sprint for the choruses 30/30/60 at 1:04 – 1:34, 2:28 – 2:58, and 4:02 – 5:02.  Ride like you stole it!

Stereo Love – Edward Maya and Vika Jigulina (4:08): Cool down.

If I Were a Boy – Beyonce (4:09):  Three years old now, and still as compelling as the first time I heard it.  Some extra cool down and goodbye music.

Water, Water, Everywhere…

Everybody knows that when you exercise, you’re supposed to drink as much as possible – right?  And if you exercise for more than 90 minutes, you’re supposed to switch from water to electrolyte-replenishing beverages, like Gatorade – right?

Not exactly.

A 2005 study of Boston Marathon runners found that 13% showed signs of exercise-associated hyponatremia.

Huh?  What’s that?  In a nutshell – it’s over-consuming liquids while exercising.  The excess liquid disrupts the balance of water and sodium in the body, causing all sorts of nasty symptoms, like nausea, spasms, cramps, vomiting, confusion, seizures, even death.

A recent Loyola University study concluded that up to half of recreational runners may be drinking too much.  Cyclists are also at risk.

The new advice?  Your body knows what its doing.  Drink to thirst.

Electrolyte beverages are still a good idea during lengthy workouts, but are too diluted to prevent hyponatremia.  You could take sodium tablets, but they can cause nausea – not exactly what you’re looking for during a race – and carry the risk of irritating the stomach.

The good news is that exercise-associated hyponatremia can be avoided, and is easily treated with IV saline once it is recognized.

All things in moderation… even water.

Actions

Information

13 responses

31 10 2011
buildmuscle

I would not want to ride my bike on those curves in the picture of this artilcle. Way too scary!

19 10 2011
Ty

Poor advice on hydration. There is very little risk of hyponatremia relative to dehydration. The risk of hyponatremia may arise during intense exercise over many hours without appropriate salt intake. Dehydration, on the other hand, can occur in a much shorter time. Thirst is a poor indicator for hydration during exercise. The best advice is to drink freely, and if exercise is prolonged, include electrolyte/sugar intake from sports drinks, gels, and other sources. By the way, in the 2005 study which is referred to in this blog post, the same signs of hyponatremia are observed from dehydration.

For appropriate information on this topic, please refer to position statements published by the ACSM and NATA on fluid replacement during exercise.

19 10 2011
Cynthia

Hi Ty, thanks for leaving such a detailed comment and counter point on this article. I agree that you have to drink a LOT of water to get anywhere near hyponatremia. And of course the conventional wisdom is not to wait for thirst to drink. I cringe when I see riders without a water bottle in my class. Some instructors I’ve heard of actually kick people out of class for not having a water bottle. I wouldn’t go that far, but I sure wouldn’t enjoy a spin class without water and lots of it.

4 10 2011
Filiz

Do you think you could link all these song list to Itunes, it would be easy to find and purchase them. Thank you great site :D

11 10 2011
Cynthia

Hi Filiz,

I don’t have the web savvy to do this myself, but I am meeting with a WordPress design guy at the end of the month with the hope of spiffing up the blog. I’ll ask him about your question and if it’s not crazy expensive, maybe he can do it for me.

17 10 2011
ann

Cynthia I love your music choices and often come to your site for ideas. Silly question. What do you mean by surge. gear or rpms? thanks, ann

19 10 2011
Cynthia

Hi Ann, not a silly question at all. Surges are not-quite-sprints done seated at about 80% of your maximum capacity. They are uncomfortable but not exhausting. You could say a few words to the rider beside you but wouldn’t want to converse. I coach them with enough gear to support your weight out of the saddle (even though you remain in) and keep you from bouncing in the saddle. For me it is about 30% of my maximum or 3/10 or perhaps 4/10. I often include surges of 60 seconds or sometimes even a little more. Hope this helps.

19 09 2011
Andrew

No photoshop. You can watch the video on Youtube. Search “Hans Rey Cliffs of Moher.” He does a “wheelie”….I’ll stick to spin class.

19 09 2011
Cynthia

Holy crap!! It’s at 1:08 – 1:15.

27 09 2011
Lisa

wow, that is INSANE.

19 09 2011
Cynthia

Hi Felice! Welcome to the blog. I would love to see one of your playlists – could you post your favourite on the Reader Playlists page?

Lisa, I have no idea – found the pic on the Internet. Zero percent chance I would go out there, on a bike or on foot.

19 09 2011
Félice

I do like your blog!! As a cycle-instructor myself I’m always look for new music, and aspecialy great choreos on the music.

If you’re interested I can give you some of my choreos. In all my classes I use the great tunes of the Eurodance. This is a musicstream witch comes out of the Italian clubscene. Mostly it are remakes of great 80′s songs. When you make a combination with the music here above, I love it!!!!!!

18 09 2011
Lisa

Oh my – please tell me that picture is photoshopped. Just looking at it makes my heart palpitate.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,790 other followers

