Hallowe’en Spin Mixes?

22 10 2011

I’ve been mulling over Hallowe’en Spin Mix options this week.  I have my go-to Hallowe’en playlist here and reader Beth Ann posted a Hallowe’en mix on the Reader Playlists page in October 2009, while readers Marianne and Bob both posted Hallowe’en rides on the Reader Playlists page in October 2010.

I am thinking it’s time to spiff up my ride, so here’s the question:  Do you have a Hallowe’en ride (or heck, a Hallowe’en song) that you really like?  I need inspiration…

Actions

Information

22 responses

30 10 2011
Lane

HALLOWEEN SPIN – CROSSING TERROR MOUNTAIN

1 Theme from VERTIGO (5:00) – BIKE SETUP

2 FUNERAL/LOVE LIES BLEEDING (Elton John) (11:07) – WARMUP

3 MUNSTER BEAT (Martinibomb)/’HALLOWEEN’ MOVIE THEME (3:19) – TEMPO TRAINING – RIDING UP THE MOUNTAIN

4 TUBULAR BELLS/PRETTY BOYS (LANE’S EDIT) – (12:00) – LOST IN THE GRAVEYARD
7/7.5/8/8.5/9/9.5/9/8.5/8/7.5/7 (TAKES 11 MINUTES)
SEATED CLIMB/SEATED RUN/3RD POSITION CLIMB 20 SEC EACH

5 SEE YOU IN THE BONEYARD (Flesheaters) – (3:30) – SPRINT THRU THE GRAVEYARD
30 SEC SPRINT ON CHORUSES (0:30, 1:43, 4:44)
2ND SPRINT STANDING – 3RD SPRINT IS 40 SEC TO END OF SONG

FALL OF THE HOUSE OF USHER:i-v (Alan Parsons Project)
I (5:52) 8+ – LONG HILL – HEAVY (9+) LAST (0:36) (OUTRUN SCARY MONSTER TILL FIRST THUNDER CRACK)

II (2:41) RUN DOWN THE OTHER SIDE (THRU HAUNTED FOREST)

III (1:04) TRANSITION TO 20 SECOND POWER CLIMB (OUTRUN ANOTHER MONSTER)

IV (4:35) GO THRU BAT CAVES (TUNNELS) (0:30,1:35, ONE MORE ANY TIME)

V (0:53) CHASED BY ANOTHER MONSTER – 20 SECOND POWER CLIMB !

11 BEAUTIFUL MONSTER (RokCity version) – SCRAMBLE

12 LAURA’S THEME (FROM TWIN PEAKS) – COOLDOWN (4:52)

27 10 2011
earthgirl74

I’m sooooo excited because this will be my first Halloween teaching spin! Thank y’all so much for all of your great advice and music selections!

28 10 2011
Michelle

I’ve been trawling the internet looking for inspiration and most of the suggestions are really OLD songs, so I’ve been trying to find a few more modern options. I’m keeping in a few classics but have added Evanescence Bring me to life, My Chemical Romance Dead and Linkin Park’s Crawling. Sounding more and more like a heavy rock playlist but never mind :)

28 10 2011
Dana

I agree that some of the songs are old. Great…but old. I’m adding Welcome to the Black Parade from My Chemical Romance because let’s face it. Who doesn’t like a parade on Halloween! I also have Tremble for my Beloved by Collective Soul. It’s from Twilight which counts..right?

27 10 2011
shalimar206

My go-to Halloween song is Crookers ft. Steed Lord- Transilvania

26 10 2011
legalb

“Bloody Mary” by Lady Gaga!!!! It HAS to make the playlist!! I have been running to it all summer, just waiting to add it to my Halloween playlist :)

26 10 2011
spinmuse

Cynthia,

I just put up a post called The Creeps at my blog with a few great songs for Halloween! Check it, girl.

Keep being so awesome, you inspire me!

25 10 2011
Cynthia

Thanks everyone!

This is reader Bob’s Hallowe’en playlist, posted with his permission:

Here’s a playlist for Halloween. I don’t believe a class would work with nothing but novelty tunes like “Monster Mash.” (My riders keep suggesting it and I tell them no.) So only “Haunted House,” a classic recorded by many, and the incomparable “Thriller” fit the description. The rest play off words in their titles. But any class with the Stones, George Thorogood, and Mitch Ryder will be a hit.

Haunted

Title Artist Time Tempo/Ride Rating

1) Haunted Dusty Springfield 2:21 Warm-Up _____

2) Candy Everybody Wants 10,000 Maniacs 3:04 Warm-Up _____

3) Haunted House Roy Buchanan 2:42 Standing Run _____

4) The Witch Queen Redbone 3:31 Warm-Up _____

Of New Orleans

5) Devil In Disguise George Thorogood 3:11 Fast/Flat Road _____

6) Trick Or Treat Otis Redding 3:07 Seated Climb _____

7) I Want Candy Bow Wow Wow 2:45 Fast/Flat Road _____

8) Ghost Dancing Simple Minds 3:20 Sprints _____

9) I Put A Spell On You Bryan Ferry 3:48 Recovery _____

10) Wicked Old Witch John Fogerty 3:10 Standing Run _____

11) Haunted Deacon Blue 3:56 Fast/Flat Rd. _____

12) Devil Inside INXS 3:34 Sprints _____

13) Ghosts In My Machine Annie Lennox 3:25 Seated Climb _____

14) Devil With The Mitch Ryder & 2:40 Fast Climb _____

Blue Dress On Detroit Wheels

15) Sympathy For Rolling Stones 4:54 Standing Climb _____

The Devil (Live)

16) Thriller Michael Jackson 5:11 Fast Climb _____

17) Haunted Deep Purple 4:24 Cool Down _____

Total Time: 59 minutes Ratings: 1 through 5 (1 – Most Like, 5 – Least Like)

25 10 2011
Sylvia

I like Dragula by Rob Zombie?

25 10 2011
Jodi McKee

I love the song Fire by Scooter. The beginning sounds spooky.

24 10 2011
Shaun

This is my first year teaching Spin and I will have a 5pm class on Halloween. I’m working on putting together a playlist also and will share what I come up with later. Our spin classes are black light classes, with the only lighting being black lights. Looks really cool. I’m also bringing in a few strobe lights for Halloween.

24 10 2011
Ellis Rutherford

I am currently mixing my own tracks, using soundclips from horror movies. Will post one up on youtube and let you have a listen.

24 10 2011
Sandy K

I am using a lot of the same ones others have suggested, but am going to try to incorporate Cemeteries of London by Coldplay and After Midnight by Eric Clapton.

24 10 2011
Jessica

Good morning!
I did this ride last year http://fittalker.blogspot.com/2010/10/scared-spinless.html but I just took another look at it and think it’s needs some sprucing up. Therefore this post is great because I can use everyone’s comments for inspiration.
Love the Ceiling Fan costume idea, too funny. And yes, I dress up. Last year it was simple with some devil horns, a tail, and other things that didn’t get in the way. This year I’m going as another instructor, so i guess it’s not much of a costume, but some people will get a kick out of it since he/she is rather distinct.
Travelling for work but can’t wait to check back here later in the week and put a ride together.

24 10 2011
Sue

how about adding Dead Man’s Party by Oingo Boingo?

23 10 2011
Chris

Hey Cynthia! Here’s my Halloween Playlist for this year-soon to be published in iTunes, Spotify, and of course, my blog.
I know a lot of people are hating on ‘Thriller’ because it’s overplayed, but seriously, it’s Michael Jackson-the man was a genius-I couldn’t leave it out!

Sweet/Ballroom Blitz
INXS/Devil’s Party
Wax Audio/Thunder Busters Mashup
Ozzy Osbourne/Bark at the Moon
Bow Wow Wow/I Want Candy
Mannheim Steamroller/”Psycho” Theme Song
Warren Zevon/ Werewolves Of London
Charlie Daniels Band/The Devil Went Down To Georgia
Michael Jackson/Thriller
Trans-Siberian Orchestra/Toccata – Carpimus noctem
KC & The Sunshine Band/I’m Your Boogie Man
Monster’s Halloween Party/Ultimate Halloween Music Dance Remix –
Scooter/Fire
Ghost Voices/Mannheim Steamroller

23 10 2011
Rebecca

I love doing Halloween Playlist but I try not to do an overkill. I agree Ive done Monster Mash and just dont love it. This year Im looking to add a few new songs..So far Im thinking Highway to Hell (either Marilyn Mason or AC/DC) Back in Black by AC/DC, Hells Bell Ac/DC, Devil Went Down to Georgia, Skull and Crossbones(pirates of the Caribbean), Bat out of Hell (Meatloaf), Thriller, Decode by Paramore, Devil Inside by Inxs.You also got Devil Dance by Metallic, Running with Devil by Van Halen, Devil without a Cause Kid Rock, Nightmare on Elm St, Time warp Rocky horror Show…Ive seen instructors use the Adams Family and twilight zone…thinking of Adam family for jumps. I better get working on my playlist. Since tomorrow will be my last Mon cl for a few weeks :( . Im due in about 4 wks. :)

23 10 2011
Valencia

I posted a question on facebook to some friends for Halloween song suggestions…Somebody’s watching me-Rockwell, Rock Lobster-B 52′s

23 10 2011
Dana

Also….is anyone dressing up? I’m actually teaching on Halloween and thought of a costume that I could actually WEAR that wouldn’t be cumbersome. I found it in a magazine. I’m going as….a ceiling fan. How? I’m going to iron on letters on my top that say “Go Ceiling!” and put pom poms on my handlebars. And there you go. Ceiling Fan.

23 10 2011
Dana

I’m putting a list together, too! I have the theme from “Halloween” for a warm up (very spooky), and “I Want Candy” by Bow Wow Wow. Also in there is “Black Cat” by Janet Jackson and “This is Halloween” by Marilyn Manson and “Illegal Alien” by Genesis. I flat out refuse to use “Thriller”…because I just…can’t….hear it….anymore.

23 10 2011
Bine

My favorite song which I have to play every Halloween is “Midnight” by E Nomine. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zXccL7R_7-Q

22 10 2011
Lisa Goldman

I was thinking/feeling the same thing. I’ve been using the same Halloween playlist (see: http://blog.ericgoldman.org/personal/archives/2009/10/lisas_halloween.html) for 4 years and I don’t think I can stand it any longer. Monster Mash is awful, and I’m so sick of Thriller. Devil Went Down to Georgia is one of my fav’s on my playlist, great for speed work. And some of the classical stuff like Mozart’s Requim is great for a climb.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,783 other followers

