My blogiversary is coming up on May 23, 2009.  Spinningmusic will be one year old!  In the past year, I’ve posted 40 playlists and met fantastic people from all over the world who happen to love Spinning as much as I do.  I’ve been anxiously watching my view stats creep upwards.  About a month ago it occurred to me that the blog might possibly – just possibly – be able to hit 100,000 views before the one year mark.  This amazes and delights me.  I love sharing music and I especially love hearing from you. I think I’m most excited about the Reader Playlists page of the blog.  I think it has the potential to become a really cool resource for all of us.  (I just wish I was tech-savvy enough to make it prettier – and printer-friendly.)

cycling in a field of flowersHere’s this week’s new playlist, another collaborative effort with my grasshopper, Nancy, who chose the music and created the profile for the warm up, cool down, and two of the drills (I Know You Want Me and Helena).

Hey Ya! – Outkast (3:56): Here’s a fun song to warm up your legs and get ready for the ride.

I Know You Want Me (Calle Ocho) – Pitbull (4:04): We’ll start with a climb.  Alternate between stair-climb, aggressive stance and seated climb, changing every 20 seconds (4 sets).

Helena – My Chemical Romance (3:35): 3x 30 second sprints – at 0:31 – 1:02, 1:19 – 1:50, 2:54 – 3:26.

Dance 2night – Madonna (5:03): This was the first song I ever used the Shazam app on my iPhone for.  (For those who aren’t familiar with it, Shazam is an application that allows you to hold your iPhone up to take a sample of a song and the program will tell you the name of the song and artist.)  I heard this song while browsing in a store.  I love the bass line.  Let’s do some lifts.  There’s time for 8/4/2/4/8 counts – one minute of each.

Waking Up in Vegas – Katy Perry (3:19): Perry’s latest single – more frothy pop goodness with a catchy chorus.  We’re going to sprint at each chorus – 0:47 – 1:02 (15 seconds), 1:29 – 1:44 (15 seconds), 2:22 – 3:07 (45 seconds).  Go!

Fire Burning – Sean Kingston (4:03): A fast, out-of-the-saddle climb.

Fire – Scooter (3:30): Pace line.  Split the group into three teams (I have three rows of bikes in my class, so I use front/middle/back row).  When you hear, “FIRE!” at 0:20, that’s the cue for the front row to GO LIKE STINK.  20 seconds at the front of the pack, then they fall back, and the second row takes it for 20 seconds, then the back row for 20 seconds.  By that point, the front row has recovered and should be ready to do it again.  There’s time for 3 sets.

Drowning (Face Down) [Radio Edit] – Saving Abel (3:38): Enough speed for today.  Let’s tackle this hill seated.  Start your tension around 5/10 and increase it every 45 seconds.  These guys remind me of Extreme and the melodic metal era of the mid-90s (check out Hole Hearted).  Saving Abel’s other hit, Addicted, is also great for a seated climb, but it may be too risque for some clubs.

Blood in the Tracks – Attack in Black (3:34): I think this was the free song of the week on iTunes recently – great song!  Steady tempo here – choose a tension (3 or 4 sounds good) and a pace you can maintain for the entire three and a half minute song.  Close your eyes and focus on your legs moving up and down, making smooth circles with the pedals.

The Climb – Miley Cyrus (3:56): Cool down and stretch.

Beautiful – Akon, Colby O’Donis, and Kardinal Offishall (5:13): Some extra cool down and goodbye music.

.

.

Beat the Creep with Small Steps

No, I’m not talking about perverts, the “creep” is slow, steady weight gain.  Some studies peg it at about a pound or two a year, nothing major – until 8-10 years go by.  I see it in many of my classmates from law school – when I run into them now (15 years later) almost all of us are at least 15lb heavier.

Toronto Globe & Mail food columnist Leslie Beck suggests we fight small with small: combat small changes in weight with small lifestyle changes you implement consciously, but barely notice.  (Read her column here.)  Beck cites the ASPIRE study of overweight, sedentary adults as proof that small steps really work.  In that study, one group of adults were asked to make one small, new change in their diet and one small, new change in their exercise habits each week for three months.  The other group was given a traditional weight-loss plan.  After three months, the small changes group lost substantially more weight and kept it off after the study ended.

Some of Beck’s ideas:

  • walk 1.5km (about 2000 steps) daily instead of driving to burn 100 calories.
  • pass on OJ and eat an orange – save 50 calories.
  • swap mayo for mustard on your sandwich – save 100 calories.
  • instead of rice, have extra veg at dinner – save 100 calories.
  • swap a toasted bagel with cream cheese for a toasted english muffin with light cream cheese – save 300 calories.
  • instead of a muffin mid-morning, have a piece of fruit – save 370 calories.
  • replace the cream in your coffee with milk.
  • use a lunch sized plate at dinner time.
  • swap a sweetened beverage for plain H2O.

Do you subscribe to the small steps approach?  What are your favourite small steps?

Postscript – Thank you, thank you, thank you readers!  This little blog hit 100,000 views on May 16, 2009, a week ahead of its one-year blogiversary.  I can’t tell you how much I look forward to your comments and song suggestions.  Happy Spinning!